A MOMENT CAPTURED

By Newton Karanu, MC3
My history
In my life, since I started having a conscious mind, I developed the urge to seek information. It is all I ever wanted. I felt like I had this thirst that could not be quenched by anything but information. So my journey began. I would go to my dad’s library just to read his Physics, Maths and Computer Programming books in order to try quenching my thirst. This went on for a while until I got to high school. Then my thirst increased tenfold. This was mainly because I felt like the school I was in wasn’t providing me with the necessary information that I needed. By the time I was done with high school, I had finished my virtual degree in psychology as I had read all of the psychology books at home.

One night, while in the library, I got a hold of a book written Fortran. This is where my journey in programming begun. I always wanted to understand what makes computers to work. So I began my first language. It was hectic. I quit in a few days after I had gone through almost half the book and I could not make sense of any of what I read. So I moved on and started learning command prompt. I perfected my skill so much that I started making viruses in high school for the fun of watching computers do other things than what they were programmed to do. I got done with high school and wondered, what next.

Moringa school
Life after high school was funny, everyone wanted me to go to university. As per what I had heard from by siblings, University was not just the place for me. So I started searching. Then one day in the newspaper, I read about moringa school. From the very word go, my intuitively knew that this was the place to go, so I emailed them and asked for an interview. What a shock it was for me when I got replied to that very same day. An interview was arranged and I came in prepared to answer the hardest questions in my life. The person interviewing me, I later came to learn that he was my technical mentor was awesome. He didn’t just ask me questions because they were to be asked, I felt like he actually meant each and every one of them. He cared. Soon after, I got my invitation email.

Moringa Prep
It was the most confusing moment of my life. Having been used to the normal classroom setup, the flipped classroom literally flipped my mind. But I was determined to know what javascript and git were, so I kept on working. Throughout the five weeks of prep, it was the best of times and the hardest of times also. The five weeks felt like five months, but now as I look back, the five weeks were like than 5 minutes. Finally, we were graduating. The best feeling was when I was shaking the hands of my mentor and the CEO of moringa. Later that evening, we decided to take our mentor out. It was the best feeling I had in a long time. I felt like I really belong in Moringa school family.

Moringa Core
After finishing Moringa prep, I went for a 10-week break, before beginning ruby. In that period, I had been shaped by Moringa School to understand that in as much as everyone is diverse, I need to be inclusive of them. I started looking at things in a very different perspective and I liked it. Sooner than later, I was back in Moringa School to begin my core classes. I felt like Prep was baby steps. I was now in a marathon. As I go on with this journey of coding, I would like to pass my gratitude to Moringa School, and tell them that I wouldn’t be where I am right now were it not for them. Live long and prosper!

Leave a Reply

