Life in a Day: Grace John

Introduction

As part of our “Life in a day series” we are highlighting the life at Moringa School through the eyes applicants who successfully joined us. We are excited to let you know what happens in the everyday life of complete beginners on their journey to becoming world-class developers.

If you are interested in becoming a world-class software developer, email us at admissions@moringaschool.com to learn more

MS: Tell us about your path to Moringa School

I was a regular tomboy who loved video games,still do, and wanted to know how they were made. I kept pestering my sister till she introduced me to Frank (Moringa School Co-founder) in a different perspective. I knew him as a friend and didn’t know what his career was. So when I learnt that, I pestered my mom who eventually accepted my schooling at Moringa school.
MS: Why Moringa School?

Moringa’s intense program is good for my brain. Opens it up from different perspectives plus it is short and gives multiple training disciplines I could never acquire from other institutes voluntarily. The pressure is good training plus it helps in knowing where my pressure limit is.

MS: What are you looking to achieve at the end of the program?

Before I leave, I would love to have integrated knowledge, and practical skills that I will be able to utilize in the outside world. Also, it would be great to get a job where I can expand my knowledge banks and gain experience in different environments.

MS: Tell us about a typical day at Moringa School

A ‘typical day’ alters essence of the question because each day has it’s specific agenda. For this question, I will outline a typical Monday.

I get up by 4 am so as not to get hit by untimely traffic. I leave the house by 5a.m because I live far. On a normal day, I get to school by around 7 to 7.30 am, settle down and start working on assignments. By 8.30, we have breakfast and indulge in a toy problem/self assessment period for about 20 minutes and 1 hour respectively. We then have classes from 11 a.m to 1 p.m, where we break for lunch and come back to school by 2 pm. WE get our coding time till 5p.m then we have 30 minutes to an hour worth of a lightning talk. We code for the rest of the evening and are free to leave school by 8p.m. I leave and get home by 10-11 p.m and code a little more past midnight. I take a nap and it’s Tuesday! Another day, same routine.

MS: Is there anything you’d like to build at the end of your time at Moringa School?

Personally, I hope to achieve and fulfill every goal I set before enrolling in the program.Independent of all this, I would also like to have standing webs and at least an app to represent the hard work done in the shadow.

MS: What’s the most fun thing that has happened to you at Moringa School so far?

I always enjoy my UI/UX classes, I think partly because most people don’t get American jokes, and because I can easily relate the lessons to my experiences. Learning more about users and how to treat them gives me a sense of belonging. As an actress, I experience a lot of UX  and it takes this basic knowledge to treat strangers, not HTML and CSS. Lol.

NOTE: They are all important!

MS: What would you tell anyone looking to apply at Moringa School?

Please be ready to take in the pressure. Do the pre-course work! It’s a lifesaver!!

MS: Parting shots:

I thank Moringa and all the instructors for their concern for us, for their persistence to see us prosper and for being great mentors to us.

For all those coming in, cheers rock stars, you will definitely love it!

As for me, God bless my soul! Python is out to get me.

Thank you!

 

One thought on “Life in a Day: Grace John

Leave a Reply

