LIFE IN A DAY AT MORINGA SCHOOL WITH PETER MUTURI

Introduction

As part of our “Life in a day series” we are highlighting the life at Moringa School through the eyes applicants who successfully joined us. We are excited to let you know what happens in the everyday life of complete beginners on their journey to becoming world class developers.

If you are interested in becoming a world class software developer, email us at admissions@moringaschool.com to learn more.

MS: Tell us about your path to Moringa School

PM: Well, I hadn’t really pictured my journey in Moringa School to be quite adventurous as it has been, for the past nine weeks and counting, it’s been quite intense. As much as I’ve really grown in coding and UX, well I have lost quite a lot of friends”Chat buddies”. (Haha! It was bound to happen, but I saw it coming). I came to find out I’m passionate about front­end design ever since I found out about codrops.com and the amazing things that people built. I use it like a CCS library to implement stuff on a website, more of like androidarsenals.com but in this case its websites, not android applications. I have come to enjoy being corrected and also criticized when I create something and ask random people how they find it. It’s really helpful to find out people’s views when working in teams. So, yeah, I’m good in team work, especially when implementing active listening. It’s all about being open-minded and getting ready to learn a lot.

MS: Why Moringa School?

PM: At first, it was all about acquiring the skills and getting my mind ready to be a software engineer. Well now, I already am a software engineer. So it has been a gateway to fulfilling my cherished dreams. I am passionate about what I do and I’m glad to have made tones of errors in school and finding my way out of it, whether it’s a bug in a code or a concept I don’t understand. That way, I am able to get better as time passes. My goal is to learn as much as I can from my mistakes.

MS: What are you looking to achieve at the end of the program?

PM: I’m looking forward to be becoming a world-class software engineer at the end of this program. I’m glad I’ve learned “how to Google”. Seems dumb to say that but I actually don’t use the Google search engine as I used to on my first day. Looking back, I was quite a rookie, not saying I’m an expert now but I have really grown. I’m looking forward to learning a lot more from my cohort buddies and Moringa School.

Picture 0293

MS: Tell us about a typical day at Moringa School

PM: Well, before Moringa School, I had this statuesque that every single day should be unique. That I should not have the same activities running in my life every single day. I like being exquisite. Well it’s not like I broke that statuesque, there should not be a single day that I should leave school just as I came early in the morning. The activities are usually almost similar on a typical day at school, but what I gain and keep record of is usually different every day. It’s what helps me grow and I love it.

MS: Is there anything you’d like to build at the end of your time at Moringa School?

PM: Haha, tricky question. The more days are passing by, the more I want to build much more things at the end of Moringa School. But the core thing is my final project which is an application that will help people around the globe to keep up with the latest fashion in different parts of the world.

MS: What’s the most fun thing that has happened to you at Moringa so far?

PM: I love the fortnight Friday parties and the cool things I build at the end of every language. The most fun thing so far though is when I got to build a whole website in less than 20 minutes and had implemented materialize. I felt like quite a guru 🙂

MS: What would you tell anyone looking to apply at Moringa School?

PM: I’d tell them to just hit the jackpot of a world-class coding boot camp. Be ready to learn and be corrected. Expect to learn a lot and have fun learning them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

