WEEK TEN…and counting

By Ian Munene, Moringa School Student

Hi guys. It’s been a while since you last heard from me. Days have flown by and as I sit in my office chair (yes, you read that right) – I just started my two week internship at Peace for Africa & Economic Development (PAD). I can’t help but smile at the progress I have made over the last ten weeks in terms of my programming knowledge and how to go about designing and developing a usable product. I look forward to the next two weeks of internship and every challenge that is going to be thrown my way.

That, however, is not what I wanted to talk to you about today. I have learnt something during my long Madaraka day weekend and that is perfection is non existent. This was reiterated to me on my first day of internship by a colleague whom I met on the first internship day. I had trouble finding problems with PAD’s web platform but a critical look at their website showed me that they had a lot that could be improved. This goes for most of the aspects of our lives where we think that we have achieved perfection. A critical evaluation of the situation reveals that we still have a lot that we can improve and be better. The comfort zone is the most dangerous of places that a person can get stuck since they can never improve themselves. We need to constantly be self aware of areas of comfort in our lives and work towards getting rid of them. I am not perfect on that too as I have a lot that I can improve but it is all work in progress.

Such has been my journey at MS and I realize that in order for greatness to be achieved, constant work ought to be put in. Settling for less never got anyone anywhere. And so I urge anyone reading this to forget about perfection and instead focus on improvement. Adios! Oh! Also follow me here

