When coding comes in last!

By Justus Mbaluka, Moringa School Student

Excellence in writing code is what defines a software engineer. This is the bragging zone for anyone who is in this field. The ability to touch the lives of multitude by just a paragraph of code in text editor feels like music to the heart and soul. Such a sweet thing.

However, its quite unfortunate that coding is the least important thing in software development. My fellow geeks, no offense, it just my opinion. I can spend all day all night writing code because that’s what I fancy doing when I am not having fun with my crazy buddies.

See, as a software engineer, I have come to realize that to fully have a meaningful impact in this field, you need three key skills.

1. Logical thinking

This is vital in development process. It’s a core factor in problem solving process as far as software development process is concerned. Your ability to breakdown complex problems into their basic fundamentals and attacking them from that perspective will influence greatly how you sail in this field.

2. Communication

Once you have successfully broken down your problem into simpler task, what next? Well, not unless you are working with robots, you will have to communicate that logical process to your fellow human beings, whether techies or non techies. Your fellow engineers needs to understand what you are doing throughout the process so as to streamline the development process and meet deadlines. You will need to explain crystal clearly how your program works to your marketing team or just keep it to yourself.

3. Coding

Coding is very important. Your ability to write code fast and ferocious saves you a lot of time. This skill sets you apart and determines how much free time you can have to catch up with your family and friends. However, like one of my instructor says, anyone can learn to code. You can swallow the entire manuals and be a walking program language. The question is , can you apply that knowledge in the right way? Or is it just a case of having too many ladders and not being able to climb a wall.

I love to code. Every time I start working on my rails code, I find it hard to stop. I can have that as my breakfast and lunch. But, why am I doing this? Am I writing code for myself or is it meant to bring a difference in the world. Working with and for people is inevitable. Any software you design is meant to be used by your fellow mankind and that’s why communication is your key to your tech paradise.

