That Annoying “aidl is missing”

By Justus Mbaluka, Moringa School Student

There is a day I battled with this annoying bug in Android studio. Horrible experience where, to the best of my knowledge, no one has written something “user-friendly” about it. It was a frustrating experience spending half a day fighting this bug. It looks something like this;

aidlmissing

Android Interface Definition Language (AIDL) is the middle man between your Android process. In Android, processes need to access each other’s memory through the operating system. For this communication to be effective, the operating system needs to understand it and that’s why Android programmers have written a bunch of code to facilitate in these translation episodes. That bunch of code is now the AIDL.

If it’s missing, then you are in trouble. I haven’t figured out why it’s missing in the first place given that I didn’t delete anything as far as I know.

Anyway, I solved this problem by playing around with the build tool versions for the APIs. Lollipop, the latest Android OS existed in version 5.0 (API 21) but as usual, the open source did what it does best. It upgraded to version 5.1 (API 22) which came with Build Tool Version 22.0.1. This tool version wasn’t working for me so I rolled back to the previous 21.1.2 which worked magic for me. If you find yourself in this mess, you can try this out. Sometimes you might be forced to completely move back to API 21 as long you are using that 21.1.2 build tool version for some features to work properly but it’s a rare case.

roll back to prevoius build tool version

Enjoy your App development!

