Wheez, kid!

By Clifford Owino, Moringa School Student

Hi there, I was supposed to blog about customizing ubuntu. Installing numix theme, adding some icons and code editors but I won’t get into that. I felt that having some random guy throwing bash commands at you wouldn’t be the best way to introduce myself. So this post is mostly about telling my story, why I joined Moringa School and where I want to be in future. You only get one shot at a first impression.

It’s quite the norm for people to misunderstand who I am and what I am really about. So who am I? Well, the short version is that am just a guy who loves challenges and wants to leave an impact in the world through code. The long version is that am mostly self taught- straight out of high school, I was tossed into the world of programming. As a consequence I learned some Java, Php and some bits of JavaScript but I have a problem, a serious problem which I will talk about at the end of the post. Keep reading though- it’s not a secret but you won’t know it unless you know me personally.

Some 10+ years ago I fell sick and the doctors couldn’t tell what was wrong with me for some time. I was only told that I was allergic to the cold. I was coughing- a cough so intense that I thought the next breath was going to be my last. I ended up getting admitted to the hospital for 2 weeks. This would be defining period in my life. From it, I really knew what it’s like to be alone in this world. You don’t have family in the children’s ward. No, you have people suffering alongside you. I’m lucky I wasn’t as ill as the child in bed 5 or I wish I was just improving as fast as the kid in bed 8. At such moments, you appreciate the little things in life. I can tell you this for free. When your chest hurts that much, you don’t care about money that much.

Eventually they found out I had bronchitis and I recovered. I can say that I am one of the lucky ones. There are many children who weren’t so lucky. That moment changed the way I look at things. I see each day as a blessing that I shouldn’t take for granted. If I made it past that, then it’s a must that I take advantage of this opportunity. Programming is one thing that I want to be great at. My goal is to make apps that make people’s lives a little better. Good health is something to be treasured. You want to enjoy every minute of it. If an app can do that for you, let that app have a name and let me be the creator because its what I live for.

Early this year: I quit my job so that I could do what I loved to do. Everybody was against it. I was coding but it wasn’t taking me where I knew I could go, so I left. That’s why I joined Moringa School. To challenge myself. Right from the start, you know that it’s going to be an intense learning experience and unlike any other school.

The serious problem I hinted at is… it’s not life threatening though. I am a perfectionist, I prefer to do things flawlessly the first time around but I know that life doesn’t work like that. I may not be money-minded but that does not mean that I won’t succeed in this school. In fact, empathy is my greatest asset. Users are the people who matter most.
But sitting in a dark, cold corner at ungodly hours bashing the next group that doesn’t share my opinion isn’t right. Don’t bash others, promote your own. I would love to see the benefits of any mindset but for now am creating the proof for mine.

Summary:
I used to coughing intensely and now I code intently. I used to wheeze now and I want to be a wiz at app development. I don’t do it for the money, ok. A little 🙂 but for the love of mankind.

@colleowino

Toodles

Leave a Reply

