Moringa School Journey

By Dhruti Shah, Moringa School Student

I moved back to Kenya in August 2014 after studying and working in Canada for 6 years. I moved back to Kenya because I have always dreamt about being an entrepreneur in Kenya and I felt like it was time to move back and make a difference.

Before I moved to Kenya, I already had a few ideas in my mind. However, they were all web/app based ideas, and I had no background in web/app development. I started looking for web/app dev classes/colleges. While I was doing my research, I came across an ad for Moringa School. Moringa School is a 12 week boot camp for Mobile and Web development. I was very impressed by the program outline and so I decided to apply.

The application process was a tough process but quite enlightening. First, we met with, Frank Tamre, one of the founders of Moringa School to learn more about what Moringa School was all about. Once I confirmed that I was still interested in joining the school, I was given a coding challenge to complete. It was a coding challenge in Java. I had no experience coding in Java, however, Frank directed me to some online resources so that I can complete the coding challenge. It took me around a week to study/complete the coding challenge and hand it in to Frank. I was then called to meet with Frank again to review my coding challenge (Frank wanted to know my thought process behind my answers for the challenge). During the meeting Frank challenged me to make sure I was ready to handle Moringa School. It was a fun process.

In this blog I am going to be sharing my weekly experiences at Moringa School.

Week 1

I started Moringa School on Monday 12th January 2015. Our class consists of 5 students from different education and ethnic backgrounds, 7 teacher, 2 of which are from Hack Reactor in the US. We started the boot camp by learning the fundamentals of HTML/CSS. It was quite a tough week. Intense classes followed by lots of homework and lack of sleep. However, the instructors are amazing/funny/friendly, making learning fun and interesting. By the end of Week 1, I was able to successfully make a basic website.

(Check out Dhruti’s personal website here.)

Leave a Reply

